Meet Me in Ecuador

Let me start by saying that last year I was lucky enough to take an amazing vacation to Ecuador with my boyfriend and his family. This was one of the best vacations of my life, and while we were there for a very short period of time, I was privileged to see so many amazing places, experience so many new things, and make memories that will stay with me forever. I can not wait to take another trip to South America.

Guayaquil. This is where our nomadic vacation started. Guayaquil is one of the largest cities in Ecuador. We spent most of our time here visiting famous landmarks and places of the families past. They spent this time slowly breaking me into the culture…

[the fish at the airport // a tower of live crabs!]

[past leaders]

[the 444th stair, that lead us to a breathtaking view of the city // the lighthouse at the top // the Church that Ruben’s parents went to when they were little]

[overlooking the city of Guayaquil]

[the famous Ecuadorian breakfast // a “bolon” which is made of plantains and cheese. It was so delicious, and if you are a fan of plantains, they come on the side of everything here!]

[the Iguana park which was basically filled with exhibitionist animals]

[Monument depicting the meeting for the independence of South America]

Salinas. We headed to Salinas for a few short days to visit some family. I was extremely excited to finally head to the coast! Guayaquil is mainly inland, so the first site of ocean practically made me scream.

[an amazing “sand castle” welcoming people to the beach]

[I was told we were going to the best oyster restaurant in Salinas. I was not expecting to walk into this place. However, it really did live up to its name. They would literally dive into the ocean (which was less the 100 yards away), bring up the oysters, clean them and prepare them right in front of you. They could not be fresher]

[part of the oyster prepping process]

[the beach at night]

[soup you ask? no that bowl is actually filled with thousands of baby SHRIMP // enjoying some science at an amazing shrimp farm]

[a coconut stand on the drive home from Salinas // aka a guy on the side of the road with a machete]

Puerto Lopez. I won’t touch on this too much, because I already have another post dedicated to it. Here are a few pictures to sum it up, but check out  more details of our quick day trip/adventure whale watching.

[Whale Watching]

[the water, once it finally calmed after the mini-storm that was going on during whale watching!]

[birds feasting on a dead fish]

[Montanita // Also known as “Hippie Beach”]

Quito. Quito was a definite must see for me during our trip to Ecuador. It was around 8 hours from where we were staying in Guayaquil, so we ended up flying there for a day, since the flight was under an hour. One day was not nearly enough time, but for one day we managed to see a lot!

[the middle of the world]

[the Equator]

[Me in the Northern Hemisphere and Ruben in the Southern Hemisphere]

[A church made almost entirely of gold // the statue of “Virgin of Quito” which overlooks the entire city]

[view of Quito]

[altitude- this is why it was semi-hard to breathe here]

[another gorgeous church]

I can’t wait to go back. Next time I will definitely be heading to the Galapagos Islands!

2 thoughts on “Meet Me in Ecuador

  1. I loved reading this post! I’ve been fascinated with Ecuador since a big Spanish project I did in highschool. If I had to choose two places to visit, they would definitely be quito and guayaquil. I studied those two regions in depth for weeks, and fell in love. Have you ever heard of the Black Sheep Inn? It’s an eco-lodge in guayaquil, and I hope to stay there some day!

    • You would love it there! When I was in Ecuador I didn’t stay at a hotel or resort.. We were lucky enough that my boyfriend had family in all of the places that we visited! It was definitely the most cultured trip that I have ever been on. Let me know if you ever go and we will give you some insider tips 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

