Pumpkin Picking

One of my absolute favorite things about fall is pumpkin picking. As soon as the first leaf falls I am trying to convince anyone who will listen to go with me to the closest pumpkin patch. This year we decided to go to a new farm in upstate Connecticut because it had everything we were looking for and more. Hay rides, pumpkin picking, apple cider, country music, and an animal farm! We started off our day feeding some adorable farm animals at the animal farm. These animals were so aggressive and seemed to have bottomless stomachs! They would grab the entire cups of food out of our hands, eat all the food and the cup the food was in!! After getting licked by the largest animal there (some type of huge horned bull), I was ready to sanitize my hands and head over to the pumpkin patch.

We had a delicious lunch then went on a semi-scary/ semi-gorgeous hay ride. We headed up the the highest point on the farm to see a stunning view of the farm area that looked painted in brilliant fall oranges, reds and yellows. When they brought us down to ground level, the search for the perfect pumpkin began. I take this very seriously. I think everyone lost me at some point because I wandered off inspecting all of the pumpkins to see what my pick would be. When I finally found the one, about 30 minutes later, I stumbled back to the meeting area, barely able to carry my main squeeze. We went to the marketplace to grab some other fall essentials before weighing and paying for our pumpkins and heading to our pumpkin carving party. It was an amazing start to our day!

[the chosen one]

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Picking

  1. Looks like you had a great time! I haven’t made it to an actual pumpkin patch yet this fall but I do love them! I hear you about the aggressive animals though. This summer my family and I went to a petting farm and the goats and llamas almost break down the fence trying to get the feed out of your hand. It’s crazy!
    xoxo
    Megan
    http://www.arayofsunblog.com

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Carving | Meet Me In Paradise

  3. Pingback: A Week in Pictures | Meet Me In Paradise

Leave a Reply

