DIY: Wall Art

This idea was actually spawned from a shopping trip to J.Crew. I took a picture of the art that they had displayed in their front window[picture below], and for months it fell out of my mind. For almost a year [sadly], I have been looking for something to display on a blank wall. I finally decided to take this into my own hands and make something. After looking through my phone for some inspiration, I stumbled upon the picture I had taken months beforehand, and I know that’s what I wanted to do. This turned out to be a really nice piece that brightens up the space and it only cost me $8 to make! Here’s what I did:

Supplies: 1. A hot glue gun & glue 2. An old magazine or book 3. A pair of scissors 4. Styrofoam discs 5. A hard surface 6. A lot of patience.  This was super easy for me because I already had all of these supplies – I only had to buy a few more of the discs.

Steps:

  1. Read the magazine.
  2. Go through the pages and rip out pages with the color scheme you are looking for.
  3. Fold the paper back and forth to form a fan – I made my folds around a centimeter in width.
  4. Continue step 3 for a long time!
  5. Glue down a thick piece of paper to the styrofoam disc to cover the hole; mark the middle.
  6. Pinch one end of one of a fan and place hot glue on the pinched side. Continue to place glue 1/3 of the way up the fan.
  7. Quickly place the fan onto the disc.
  8. Continue to do this until the fans form a circle.
  9. Make as many or as few that is desired for your space. I made five or six sizes by cutting the pages in halves, thirds, etc.
  10. Lay out on the floor until you find the formation you are looking for.
  11. Nail it to the wall.

[This is the window display in J.crew that eventually inspired this project]

8 thoughts on “DIY: Wall Art

  1. Pingback: iVillage, DIY Wall Art | Meet Me In Paradise

Leave a comment